It bothers me

I am sensitive.

I have been this way for as long as I can remember. Little things bother me and stay on my mind long after the moment has passed. Not to the extent of dropping everything and being unable to move on, but definitely unsettled. For instance, after having lived away from India for a few years, I realized that I had learnt to respect and treat everyone as equals. Growing up in our social circles, we’ve always had people to do things for us. Be it our cooks, our drivers, the person who does our laundry, our gardener somewhere between being served and expecting to be served we grew up desensitized. I am not chastising people for having help, I love having help, and it’s probably one of the reasons why I will never leave India, again. I enjoy the good life. That being said, when I moved back home, I began to notice a pattern. Our behavior and tone changes when we talk to our help. Curt, dismissive and sometimes derogatory. That’s what most of us have seen while growing up and have emulated too. It really bothers me how some people speak to their help, it’s almost as though they no longer consider their help as humans. Barking orders, disrespectfully addressing them regardless of the fact that they are older or even have them do little tasks that one clearly should be doing on their own.

It bothers me.

We’re pushing thirty, is it really that hard to be compassionate? At what point did we become devoid of the finer human emotions? In parties and social do’s we talk about everything under the sun, health, marathons, golf, and sitcoms, sometimes-even politics. Every now and then someone will bring up the Trump administration, but seldom we talk about Aleppo. Quite frankly, it disturbs people to think about what’s going on in the Middle East, let alone recollect images of little children suffering. This is no dinner table talk; it’s impolite to talk about such things. However, I feel, the reason we don’t indulge in such talk is because we’re desensitized. We as a generation, and I know that I am generalizing, are unable to feel deeply for people whom we don’t know, don’t follow on social media, basically people we can’t relate to. How unfortunate is that. People often joke and say, if you’re not on social media you don’t exist. The sad reality of life is, that it’s actually true. So, on one hand we have the long list of benefits of social media. How great it is, how it’s brought people together, the world has shrunk because of the world wide web, but, it’s also made us a little desensitized.

I understand that it’s a dog eat dog world out there, now more than before. We must look out for ourselves first. Don’t get me wrong, its not a bad thing, perhaps it would be nicer if we could spare a few moments to be compassionate. It’s okay to talk about things that make the room a little uncomfortable, because it is somebody’s reality. One must learn to embrace the different aspects of life, some will come naturally, some not so much, but it’s a start. It is imperative that we pause a little when we read about the atrocities in Aleppo. To really explore the way in which we can help, every little contribution matters. Dialogue is important and it has to start somewhere. Being sensitive is a good thing, as humans intrinsically all of us can feel compassion. Some more than others, and that’s all right. As long as we can feel ‘that’ something.

‘Does this road lead to Aleppo?’

Your answer can be ‘yes’ or ‘no’

Your opinion doesn’t make it so

Consult a map before you go!

~ Rumi

Leave a Reply

